Death, Burial, Resurrection: A Poem by Alaina Odessa

So tired of being my worst enemy…

Of having a thousand ideas of how to bring the Father glory

Bring me into the realization & fullness of my heart’s deepest desires…

But every time, every single time

I’ve let the lesser me: the me that’s afraid

The me that’s too guilty, too nice, too angry, too ashamed and accusing

The barricaded me holed in by all the walls and habitual modes of self imprisonment

The me with hands sticky, stuck to putting it off by putting it down

Feet: two heavy bricks the tongue dared not be strong enough to lift…

All that focus, all that drive, a must

Just to get one more mile down the hallway of years.

Exhausted by the dream turned nightmare

Of all the hundreds of ways

Possible & dancing through my mind

About how to bring the thousand ideas of glory to being…

(The dream is only guiding when it’s no longer dreamt about)

It’s time to get up

Raise my hands in surrender

Go barefoot, finally, on the golden sands of purpose.

On the San Diego shore, in the San Diego sand I came to bury this lesser state of mind.

I dig a grave and engrave the headstone like this:

“Here lies all the lies about who I thought I had to be.  

Safety, Love, Provision, Purity, Acceptance, Brilliance, Sight, Voice, and Touch

All the birthrights I release through the digging and infilling of this hole.

I funeralize the dream today and get myself up because it is time.”

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Death, Burial, Resurrection: A Poem by Alaina Odessa

  1. Anthony Belton says:

    You never fail to amaze me, in how deep you go using the simplest phases! You are truly gifted!

  2. Modgie Williams says:

    Very interesting poem. I think most of us can see ourselves in this poem from time to time.

    Modgie Williams, Bethel Church Greensboro

  3. kim burgess says:

    I love this poem!!!!!!

  4. I love your work! Penetrating and Purposeful…Please continue to share

Leave a Reply

