The Miles…Headed Home the Long Way

It’s been a while since my last post, I know.  Forgive me for being so quiet.  And for me to have left you for so long with something on a 20 year old movie is pretty rude.  Lol…it’s just that I’ve had soooo much on my heart and mind.  I’ve been sorting, and believe me, there has been much to sort.

I left the Island yesterday for the second time.  I initially pulled out on February 29th, Leap Year Day with big huge poetic plans on how that was to be the day of my re-leap into The Miles….but there was an ugly snow storm at the pass.  Trucks with chains on their multi wheels and when my car slipped and slid for the third time in a mile, I turned it around about 80 miles out.  Henri Hardenburg, half of the sweetest couple (Sally’s husband) I met at an outing at the NWLA in Langley, offered me his sister’s cute little beachside vacation home.  I stayed there till yesterday (Sunday) writing, thinking, and gathering the rest of what I needed for this next leg of my journey.

I’m writing this from Medford, Oregon.  I got here the long way from Washington, via Route 101, the Pacific Coast Scenic Highway.  It was breathtaking and well worth the 6 hours it added to my journey.  I saw beautiful sloughs (imagine that), quaint little seaside towns that looked like yesteryear, an amazing amazing combination of coastal and mountain views, a large family of elk grazing peacefully beside the highway, and another side of myself I had never seen before.

When the sun slept there was no reason for me to keep on the scenic route.  I decided to turn inland and go southeast towards the Grand Canyon.  But where I was I didn’t know.  Sure, Tillamook, Oregon was on all the signs around me, but I had zero concept of where I was on this friendly American soil of ours.  I had no map.

I have planned (or perhaps, not planned) and encountered this entire trip thus far, much the same way I have been living my life.  By the seat of my pants.  Going to Whidbey Island I had an address.  A concrete destination and a goal to get there in the least amount of time possible.  Leaving Whidbey for my NC home was always going to be a meandering quest.  I knew I wanted to drive Route 101 for the sights and then head toward Flagstaff, Arizona.  But I have travelled almost 4,000 miles so far and only just now come to the realization that intent and an iphone are perhaps not the best, and certainly not the only, tools I need to do this wisely.

Call me a crazy, a fool, gullible, call me whatever you like but please include the words shocked and mapless.  I remember being amazed on the way out at how the states were appearing before me.  There were town indicators on those sweet little green signs the department of transportation leaves as clues for its guests, not state ones.  So when I’d see the next state show up I’d have this feeling of awe and glee mixed together.   It was like I was being refreshed by the ‘showing up’ of these accomplishments…strange, I know, because they were sneaking up on me from the frontside.  Weird.

This is the same way I’ve been running Alaina Odessa Expressions, my business.  I suddenly realized I have this awesome vision and no map.  No real inclination as to what will show up next…just this huge heart’s desire God has given and no doubt blessed thus far, but I’ve been far too passive, mapless, in my contributions to this whole endeavor.

For years, I’ve been thinking lack of trust was my biggest issue.  It isn’t.  I see that I have a tendency to trust too much when I know the ability is there.  My trust is childlike.  Limp. Inactive.

I can’t just keep “going” like I’ve been doing.  It’s time I take the time to plan my “goings” and execute that plan.  What I have going on in my business is equivalent to what I’ve seen go on thus far with The Miles…

A destination/vision that’s thousands of miles away from where I stand right now, and yes, I thank God for the thousands of miles behind me.  He has brought me a mighty long way.  But, like Ruth, I can’t just rely anymore on the handfuls of purpose laid so tenderly and carefully before me.

I need a strategy.  I need a plan.  I’ve got to once and for all map this whole thing out.

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to The Miles…Headed Home the Long Way

  1. Anna Collins Stanback says:

    That’s the purpose of travel to arrive…feeling and finding the U God made…hang in there it all works for the good…have fun enjoy don’t get toooo serious…

    Mrs. Anna Stanback

    • Thanks Anna for the encouraging words. Sometimes we get too serious and sometimes too serious gets us!!! Lol… How are you enjoying NC?

      • Anna Collins Stanback says:

        How am i enjoying NC…NOT!!! I need more creative stimulation….

      • Hi Anna….There’s a book I think will help you with your need for creative stimulation. Its called The Artist’s Way by Julia Cameron. It’s laid out as a 12 week self guided study but it’s amazing for opening up the creative heart to a larger capacity. It’s also great instruction for mining that “what to do” dilemma. I think you’ll enjoy it….let me know. Blessings & Strength!!! Alaina<3

      • Anna says:

        You know what???? I think I have this book…I will check in my book pile(smile) thank you so much

      • Oh cool… Let me know what you think about it Anna:-) I’ve completed it twice, it was a treasure trove for me.

  2. Alaina,

    What a treat to open my Gmail account and find you there. 🙂 I absolutely loved reading this post. I could actually visualize your scenic route and could “see” your whimsical face. Thank you for sharing so much of yourself in your posts. That takes courage. Thank you for sharing your growth and development, too. That is something we, true bloggers, have in common. 🙂

    Being a business owner is so wonderful, isn’t it? It is more like personal development with compensation….or maybe not (at times). But, even so, it requires us to evolve in a way that we would not have otherwise. At the end of the day, we learn things about ourselves that we never knew and we are all the better for it.

    So, again, thank you for being so transparent, for taking us on your journey with your colorful writing, and for your endless pursuit of the vision.

    Blessings,
    Kellie

    • Kellie, since I know you are a reader warrior I’m going to go ahead and give a dancing on the ceiling shout for your compliment. visualizations are everything for me when I’m reading and listening to speakers. With that being said, as I was writing this post today was the first time I ever saw something of a bridge between the writer in me and the speaker in me. Duh, right? You know what they say about the slow ones…when they get it, they’ve GOT it! Lol…

      Thanks for sharing yourself the way you do…for being transparent yourself. BTW, how is your book coming along? Now, THAT’s a transparent read the people will want to get their hands on!!!

      Love You,
      Alaina

Leave a Reply

