The Miles: A Cross Country Sabbatical & The St Louis Breakdown

I made it in last night, east coast late and dark here as the dickens.  I knew ‘The Miles’ would bring something, I just didn’t expect it to be triumph.  When I crossed over Biggs Bridge into Washington state from Oregon, I felt like a gold medalist having won something not just for myself, but also for my Country.

I’m sitting in my February bed now, looking out the window at a sight so beautiful, I hardly have words for it.  From where I sit there’s probably an acre of land leading out to the bluff.  Holmes Harbor separates Freeland from another portion of the island by at least a mile or so.  It looks like a bunch of toy homes, like one could pick the village up and rearrange it all by hand.  The beauty of the ice capped mountain range hovering in back makes it seem that much more unlikely to be real.

It was so dark last night I couldn’t see it, not even in silhouette, and was a little perturbed when I thought it wasn’t there.  Fearing the owner had somehow wedged herself between the red barn and a leaning tree to get the shot of that mountain that made me dream about this place.  But this morning…this morning there she was.

The drive was an adventure.  A beautiful beast I ate, not mouthful by mouthful, but mile by mile.  We live in such a beautiful country.  I forbid myself the regret of not doing this sooner.  Now is just as good a time as any to have begun.  But just as I’ve heard a thousand times, the travel is contagious.  I gasped and awed at the distant and aloofness of the Rockies in Wyoming; their grandeur and closeness in Utah; and what seemed to be her soft side, calm and softer folds in Idaho.

Once I finally heard God’s voice asking me for the specifics of this trip, I replaced the broad prayer of please with the request of “mountains and water”.  I had no idea He’d go all out like this.

My car sort of broke down in St Louis, but that went down in God’s great way, as well.  All the distance from Mt. Vernon I cried like a baby in overwhelming fear.  The whole while God was saying “Go”, the car was going crazy.  It made no sense to me.  Every inch of covered ground seemed like I was being led to the gallows with a dunce cap on my head.  I asked for the help I needed to praise Him anyway…and then the clarity came that changed my point of view.

I stopped seeing myself inside the screeching screaming car and saw me in the answered prayer instead.  Inside the moment of the dream I was in that God had made come true.  By His grace and comfort, the trust came back pouring in…

Whatever happens, it’s not only meant to be, it’s meant to be ‘ all good’.  

My tears of fear turned to praise as I drove into St Louis… drove right up to The Griot.  It’s the Black Cultural Museum on St Louis Avenue I’d seen in the tourist guide the night before and knew I HAD to go there before I passed on through.  It was located smack dab in the middle of the hood of St Louis.  But the doors were barred.  The place was closed.  I dropped my head in frustration.  Not only had I planned to enjoy the exhibit, I wanted to know if somebody knew a decent & reasonable mechanic I could see…

Looking to the left, directly across the street, I saw a teeny tiny sign that read “Service Welding & Alignment”.  I  turned in and met Joe.  No last name so we’ll call him Suspension Surgeon Joe because that’s what he was.  A third generation car surgeon that God had led me to to get my all-the-way-dead-about-to-fall-out-front-passenger-side-ball joint diagnosed, part ordered from Cahokie, Il, delivered within the hour, installed in 7 minutes so I could get on with ‘The Miles’.  All that, and Suspension Surgeon Joe threw in an old school string & back trolley alignment that’s got Cathareene running like she did back when the decade turned.

Don’t tell me we Believers make our trips and live our lives alone.  The God we serve is Big “G”: a Provider, Producer, Healer, Deliverer, Husband, Father, Friend.  And He knows the best mechanic this, or any, side of ‘everywhere’ and exactly how to get us there.  

I’ve gotta keep encouraging myself to trust Him for that.  We all do.  It’s the chiefest of our journeys and we can only make it light.  And it’s so worth the thousand pounds of fear we must unpack to get there because trusting in God makes everywhere home.

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The Miles: A Cross Country Sabbatical & The St Louis Breakdown

  1. Alaina,

    I don’t know how I missed this post, but I am so glad that you have “journaled” it here. For some reason, Joshua 1:3-9 came to mind as I read it. Know that you are strong and courageous and that God is with you. He will never leave you nor forsake you, even when it seems like Cathereene has. 🙂 I admire your perseverance and your desire to seek Him in solitude. This is an experience of a lifetime. God would not have prepared the way and appointed the time had He not expected to do marvelous things. It would be unlike Him to do otherwise. 🙂

    So, again, thanks for sharing pieces of your experience with us. I look forward to reading more.

    Sincerely,
    Kellie

    • Hey Kellie<3 So glad to hear from you here on the Blog…. Thanks for sharing the Scripture<3 I haven't referenced that one in awhile….very sweet words for this season I'm in<3 I was thinking (after about an hour and I got myself together, that is:-)… That there's no way God would have brought me through all THAT to get here and dump me off on the side of the HWY broken down. I'm so glad for the struggles because they not only show me HIM, they show me me! I'm loving the house and scenery. Again, I want to thank you for having the audacity to swim with the 'big fish'…your passions, dreams, and commitment (Blog Talk Radio Show) are a huge reason of why I am right here, right now. Keep soaring…the best is yet to come:-) Love You Much, Alaina

  2. Jeanette says:

    One of my clergy friends has said for many years that “free people free people.” Thanks for daring to share and free others as you soar to freedom.

    • Oh, that’s nice, Jeanette…:) But all I’d say I’m doing is sharing my search for freedom with others… I’m gaining on it, but I’m not nearly there. Thanks so much for commenting….Blessings and strength to you<3

    • That’s SO funny!!! From where I first replied to your comment on my Blog it looked like “thanks for daring to” was the end of your comment. Now I see that I basically said what you said… LOL!!! Great minds think alike<3 Much love….

  3. Wende says:

    Thank you so much for sharing your journey with us. I agree, as I was reading this it felt like a part of an upcoming book to me as well! Be blessed sis, and enjoy the journey!

  4. luguzy atkins says:

    Wow Alaina, I love the way you described what you saw and how you felt. I feel like I’m there also…. This is another book sounds like to me 🙂 always praying for ya homie!!

    • Hey Anointed man of God<3 Thanks for compliment and the prophecy…that's how I'm receiving your comment about this being another book. Open to the wind…LOL… Ummmmm, I've recently had a lot of listening time on my hands (hahaha) and I was listening to Poetic Keys. You know I think the whole thing is awesome but musically what you did with Lustful Cries is just phenomenal!!! A true genius…I can't WAIT to see what God does and the places he takes YOU!!! Blessings and strength…..

Leave a Reply

