The Miles: A Cross Country Sabbatical (Mt. Vernon, IL)

Of ‘The Miles’, 700 are in my rear view mirror.  I slept hard last night after crashing around 2:45am in this seedy hotel in Mt. Vernon, IL.  Because I like to sleep in beds of warmth in cold rooms I opened the third (top) floor window,  took all the covers off the other double, added them to this one, and have managed to create comfort in this situation I might have complained about before.

I’m grateful to be here.  To have come this far was not by ease.  When God calls, when He says “GO”, and when we make a decision to share our “YES”, I’ll be frank, all hell breaks loose.

Of course I had hints of resistance all along the way.  Little voices speaking from within questioning me about everything…..from sanity to safety, but it wasn’t till yesterday morning, when the car all packed and the prayers were all prayed that the enemy threw his hardest punch.  The fear I felt in that moment managed to find the resevoir of my insecurities and I could taste the pain in my soul on my tongue….

Cancel everything……….call Gail get the freedom money back and use it to finance another hiding place…….stupid stupid girl…….you’re crazy anyway to think that God means what He says about being your Provider……Ha!…….those Bible stories are just stories, you big idiot……..LOL, you take them literally…….you preach about taking God up on His Word……..the children of the world ARE wiser than the children of Light, meditate on that Scripture for a couple of day………fool……….you wanna hear from God?……He’s speaking now……telling you to sit down somewhere and live a normal life………..who do you think you are anyway?…………

I could go on, but I think you get my point.  Whenever we make a commitment to do things based on God’s Word and Voice, resistance, internal and external, IS coming.  I’m learning that the hardest thing of all is to stay on course because resistance ALWAYS makes sense.  The problem with it is, it doesn’t make FAITH, and that’s what the Hebrew writer identifies as the ONLY thing that pleases God.

I want to please Him.  Tears are burning my sinuses right now because that’s all I want to do……please the God Who made me, named me, called me, saved me, taught and teaches me, and has led me this far.  I know, that I know, that I know that He is Jehovah Jireh.  I’ve seen Him do too much already.  One of those old hymns that rests like salve on my soul says, “You can’t make me doubt Him.  I know too much about Him.  Jesus is my Lord.”  Hallelujah!

When I woke up yesterday I heard a Word in my spirit saying, “Everybody is running.  Everybody.  Folk are running from something or else they’re running towards.”  The more I thought about it the more it locked itself in my heart.  And it’s the same effort and energy really.  Worry is just as expensive as trust.  Fear calls for the same focus and meditation as love.  I have to remember to remind myself to keep running towards love…

At the light, on the corner of Benbow and E. Lee, seconds before I hit the highway to begin ‘The Miles’, a funeral procession passed by.  I heard the three honks from the leading hearse, they were my trumpet call.  Elongated faces mourned in creeping cars, twelve or so followed, their headlights burning in the memory of this loved one, and I knew death was not the worse thing.  The dead pass on to Life guaranteed…

But what about us?  What are we doing?  What are we waiting for?  A life worth living will never give us a more urgent invitation to know it than breath.

 

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Miles: A Cross Country Sabbatical (Mt. Vernon, IL)

  1. Patricia says:

    Wow!!! I am loving the insight and awakening that is coming from this…So refreshing! This is a journey I feel that all of us desire, but you are the one that answered to it first…You are…right now… a living epistle…

    • Patricia, you just poured a soothing salve on a dry place in me…. Thank you and Bless you!!! If only one decides to answer the unique call & urging of God behind all of this, then I salute the guinea pig and praise His name it’s me! Lol….

Leave a Reply

