Emotional Intelligence Before the Second Coming

People will tell you who they are if you listen. This was my Facebook post the other day and someone responded ‘they’ll show you who they are, too, all we have to do is watch.’

There’s a quote by Ralph Waldo Emerson: “What you do speaks so loudly that I cannot hear what you say.”

We meet people and within minutes they tell us that have no prejudice, are always faithful, or never tell lies. But hours later we see the fruit that they deny.

I’ve been guilty of a form of this myself…

I don’t like it when people are late. I always feel a little catch in my stomach when I’m left waiting. Like maybe I’ve been forgotten and they’re not coming at all… or something I did awhile ago has triggered them wrong and this is the moment they’ve chosen to be mad at me.

It’s agonizing to me when people are late, but-er-a…You guessed it! I’m late all the time.

So what’s that about, doing the very thing I hate? Is it pride? Rebellion? Or some type of passive aggressive revenge?

I don’t know all the psychology behind it, but I do know it’s an ugly boulder blocking the way to richer character.

The judgmental Christian who introduces themselves as someone who never judges exists in that awkward danger zone. It’s ludicrous for a Christian to ask Christ’s correction on something they’ve already perfected. Where’s the room for repentance in that?

How well can we assume we know ourselves then, I wonder? If the manipulator is not, by their own self standard, a manipulator, how would the need for change ever enter in?

It’s one of the reasons I attribute self awareness as the chief tool the Body of Christ needs for growth in these last days. I think lack of it (self awareness) is why satan has any influence at all.

It’s not dangerous for a Christian to admit they’re manipulative, or that they lie, or steal, or have an evil attachment to money and tie all their worth to images and things…

And although I could add to this list of ugly scenarios until the Second Coming, there’s still no danger to Christians for being the confessor of these. The danger comes in because we won’t.

We have a Savior Who died to save us. He alone gave us the right to cry Abba, Father. And He gave us the right because we so desperately need it.

No one is perfect, not even you.

Prayer:
Father God, place the mirror of Your Holy Spirit up to my ways, and mind, and heart. Show me the reflection of myself as I am today and the reflection of the vessel Your Love is changing me into. Help me to trust that I am safe to see, admit, and repent to You because You are my loving Heavenly Father Who gave Christ as a token of Your love and forgiveness of my sins. And strengthen me to forgive myself for all my imperfections. In Jesus Name, Amen.

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Emotional Intelligence Before the Second Coming

  1. Alaina, as always, I love this post. Everything you have said is so true. In fact, I am the same way with the punctuality thing. What is that about? I am always rushing, rushing, rushing. In fact, I made a promise to myself just last week that I am going to try leaving 30 minutes before I have to be anywhere and experience the joy of being there early. Like you, I do not like it when others are late or when those who say that punctuality means so much to them (for their events), are late to other people’s events. I do not get why I am wired this way, but I do know that I can change by His power. I certainly cannot fix myself.

    I can however, make a conscious decision to pray about the situation…and the prayer you have modeled is just perfect.

    Thanks again for opening my eyes to yet another spiritual truth.

    Shalom.

    • Thanks Kellie! This is actually one of my favorite posts. There are so many aspects of other people that I have a tendency to pray about sometimes asking God to “fix”…when in actuality it’s an opportunity for me to be “fixed”!

      Thanks for taking the time to share you feel my pain on the late thing. Girl, if I knew where it came from I’d grab it by the neck and choke it to death. Lol….but as it stands, my late proneness is yet another opportunity for me to cultivate patience.

      We’ll get there! I’ll be praying for you!
      Blessings & Strength,
      Alaina

  2. Kim Burgess says:

    WOW,This is s so powerful,..It reminds me of how Jesused healed the blind, and at times we are walking around blind blaming others so much that we are blinded to ourselves,and he will heal our blindness if we just ask.So I love the prayers that you have started writing at the end of your blogs,but this one exp..They are truly beneficial and have opened my eyes to see myself and how God is helping me.

    Blessings,’
    Kim

    • Thanks Kim! I’m all over your analogy about the connection of Jesus healing the blind and those of us who walk around sightless to our own faults and issues.

      I’m glad you’re enjoying the prayers! I hadn’t really realized I was starting a trend with that…they’ve kind of just been happening. You know, going with the flow:-) But since I know they’re beneficial, I’ll try to remember to include them whenever I can.

      It blesses me to hear how God is helping you see yourself. He is truly all we need<3

      Blessings & Strength,
      Alaina

Leave a Reply

