It’s Time to Participate

Matthew 5:13 says YOU are the salt of the earth. But how seasoned by the Word of God is your conversation?

I’m amazed at how often I use my tongue to speak the world’s cultural & generational negative programming. I come away from my time with God refreshed and ready, but like the seeds Jesus said will fall on rocky ground, I inevitably find myself talking about the lean bank account, aching body, personality conflicts, or just plain old murmuring, complaint. This is not the faith of God.

How can I say at any time that I trust Him, love Him, believe in His faithfulness, then give my voice to doubt? And this is more than just a mere contradiction; this IS the battle. The war between our God and His enemy is fought (day in / day out) in our mouths, with our tongues.

God was so descriptive & illustrious with His talk about our tongues. Remember everything God made was made by the word, and because we are made in His image and likeness, the word we keep in our mouths is the word that paints our world.

Death and life are in the power of the tongue, they that love it shall eat the fruit thereof. Proverbs 18:21
Whoso keeps his mouth and his tongue, keeps his soul from trouble. Proverbs 21:23
The tongue of the just as as choice silver… Proverbs 10:20
A wholesome tongue is a tree of life, but perverseness therein is a breach of the spirit. Proverbs 15:4

We are as mighty in this world as our voices are equipped with the Word of God. Moving away from the talk of mediocrity, complaint, and lack & insufficiency takes mindfulness. It takes self awareness. It requires that we take notice of the depth of power of the spoken word; that we take ourselves off autopilot to actually listen to the states of being we’re creating with our tongues.

There is an awesome move of God taking place right now. I believe He’s using this season to recreate things like He did in Genesis; move things like He did in Exodus, and all we have to do to position ourselves as recipients of this New Glory, this New Thing He promised in Isaiah 43:19, is take responsibility for our voices. Submit ourselves and allow Christ (the Anointing) to do the work of changing our minds to change our words to change our lives into the glorious Church Jesus Christ our Lord promised He was coming back for.

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Time to Participate

  1. Alaina,

    I was just thinking about this very principle. In many areas of my life, I struggle with speaking the Word. It is not out of unknowing, but it is out of familiarity, complacency, and of course spiritual warfare; for, the enemy knows, I daresay, even more than I, how powerful the Word is–yea, my words are.

    God has given me His Word. God has told me what to say and how to say it and even gave me an example of Jesus, Himself, speaking the Word directly in conversation with Satan, denouncing his every suggestion.

    So, why do I not exercise this authority? I promise myself that the next time, I will…..the next time, I will not…..Yet, I do.

    Is it out of unbelief? Is it because I do not believe the Word is powerful enough to change situations or am I leaning on my own wit to bedazzle my way out? Whatever the case may be, it can be better. It can be much more than my eyes have seen or my ears have heard when I just speak the Word.

    So, thank you, again, for letting God use you to confirm what I know I have yet to do.

Leave a Reply

