Desire is the seed of potential…

I’m quick to say “desire is the seed of potential”. What desires are pressing you? What activities would you love to get involved with if only there was enough time, or money, or support, or…well, you get where this is going. All of us have different boundaries, different lines in the sand drawn by someone or something that keep us from our deepest heart’s desires.

And though the desires vary as much as the hearts themselves, they all symbolize the same thing: guides knocking on our souls longing to go deeper. I fully believe that every ache and itch we have to learn that instrument, language, craft, or take that trip, or class, or whatever interests the quiet has a tendency to remind us of, is actually the seed of our potential joy longing to be manifested.

The sad thing is, we’ve been so trained, & shaped, & shamed into believing this is our insensibility. The thing we need most to abandon, forget about, & betray. But why is the celebration of the fun lovingness of our creative spirits only reserved for childhood? That, to me, is so unfair. And what’s worse, is even as children we were often so rushed, & hushed, & ushered away from the boldness of our imaginations & loudness of our laughter.

There was a time when we were willing to throw back our heads and sing sour notes on air guitars just because we wanted to. But we’re so stiffnecked & trained now in our belief about what’s beneath us & not worth our time, that we hardly know the way back to our heart’s true desires.

You’re 40 years old!!! Why would you invest your time & money in a sewing class? A drumset? That’s ridiculous!!! Chinese? What!?! People your age don’t take acting classes!!!

But they do…if they want to & will.

And it doesn’t have to be about wanting to be a concert pianist or a Hollywood actress for a living. There’s more to life than making a living. And when we realize that, life might just make us happy again, or perhaps, for the very first time.

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Desire is the seed of potential…

  1. I believe this with all my heart and soul! Its about getting the message out there, creating awareness and allowing those inner butterflies to spread….

  2. Alaina,

    This is a lesson I have had to learn. There are so many things that I wanted to do when I was younger that I did not pursue because I was encouraged to take the safe route–get a degree and a safe job. I adhered to that advice rather than listening to my soul’s desires.

    That is no longer the case. I will soon be 40–in less than 30 days–and I have made my “bucket list”. I will write that screenplay or two or three. I will learn to play guitar. I will make several cds. I will write those books. I will start that private school. I will….I will….I will….

    As my grandmother used to say, “Lord willing and the creek don’t rise!” I will.

    • Oh Kellie! You take my breath away with this comment! Yes, yes, yes!!! I stand in full agreement with you SistaGirl that you will do ALL those things and more! I can remember when 40 years old was like a doomsday birthday but now we’re coming into the understanding that age is more about attitude than anything else. The fulfillment of our heart’s desires is our purpose…when we are inline with that we daily drink from God’s fountain of youth.

      We have to learn that our dreams are someone else’s necessity…. There are children who will come to your private school and have their lives positively changed forever by a teacher on your staff. No more can we turn our backs on our dreams. Empty your heavenly storehouses here. Manifest your dreams!!! I’ll be admiring your audacity as your accomplishments inspire me to walk a little taller in my own<3

Leave a Reply

