Feel the fear & do it anyway…

There’s something about stepping out in faith that ALWAYS rewards. I’m doing The Wisdom Workshops Series (TWWS) right now. It’s a seven weeks series where I’m teaching selected poetry of Slow Running Honey. God had been pressing my spirit to do for over a year now. I must have set at least a dozen dates in my heart and on paper only to come up with a kajillion practical reasons why the date needed to be pushed back, erased, or set aside. And I’m telling you, they were good reasons. Had you heard any of them you’d probably have said “Oh, ok…that makes perfect sense.”

And therein lies the problematic issue. My reasons for my procrastination always make practical sense. I could be labeled the south’s most sensible avoider. Avoidance became the habit I was probably most emotionally attached to. It was my safeguard. My okay place to hide. So yes, I had all the dreams and the plans to go with them…the only thing was, there was never any action behind my plan. Just meetings & maps that kept detailing the terrain more and more intricately but without the audacity to explore, a treasure map serves nothing.

I thank God for how He knows and reads our hearts; how He ministers to not just to our issues but to their root. He knew what I did not: that the dates would be inked in and whited out, pencilled in and erased not because the money was a mystery, or the website wasn’t ready, or the book was on back order…but because of the foundation of fear all my dreams & all their plans were built on.

My business mentor, Tammy Holyfield (another of God’s timely gifts) told me one meeting that I had to “practice live” if I ever hoped to work out all the kinks. What does that mean, I wondered? As if she read my mind she said, “plan your way, invite the people & do it. You’ll learn in the process”. And here I am….

Three weeks into the seven weeks series of TWWS and I feel my wings expanding. Again, I heard someone say, Joyce Meyer maybe….”feel the fear and do it anyway.” Funny thing about fear is…it’s all in your mind. When you finally get there, you often find that it’s not. That its welcome is always worn out by our audacity to ‘do it anyway.’

And so here I am….”out there”…& now I know the distance between undone & doing, is only a step away!!!

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Feel the fear & do it anyway…

  1. Alaina,

    I thank God that He saw fit that our paths should cross. Who knew? He did. For that, I am grateful. In just a short while, I am learning so much from you and have been blessed by your anointing.

    The workshop topics last night spoke directly to me and blessed me beyond measure. We never know who God will speak through or to whom we will pour into to when we wake up in the morning. That is what makes the journey so exciting! Just this one encounter helped resolve or should I say confirm things that I already knew, but needed to hear “out loud.”

    Had you not gone forth, in spite of fear, I would not have had that experience. So thank you for listening to your mentor and “practicing live”. I can only imagine how God will expand and elevate in the process.

    • Thank you, Kellie<3 I'm blessed & humbled the Lord saw fit to speak to your heart through my voice. You are such a beautiful woman, inside & out. I trust and believe we will have a friendship that'll last a lifetime.

  2. Stevii says:

    Oh Alaina! What a blessing it was to wake up to this! You have set my day off with inspiration and empowerment! I am excited about the tour more so than ever! I feel that “practicing live” takes the pressure off! Putting our blessed plans and thoughts into motion is exactly what glorifies God! I’m so thankful to know you and call you my sister!

  3. Nadirah says:

    Timely message Lady O, as I decide when to move forward with my current series…Thanks for sharing how you moved through the fear into the promise…Ase’

Leave a Reply

