You Are the Gift

My Dad has asked me to make a commitment to write everyday. Not anything to him, per se; more like a commitment to write letters to the moods as they flow and the thoughts as they come. Though that was days ago, and this is the first time I’m actually here at the keys with his request in mind, it touched me that he even asked.

Life is so not about people pleasing, or falling limp to the mesmerizing phrases of flattery, but when someone genuinely calls out for our gifts, it strikes the heart’s core and drums up feelings we rarely ever feel. So I can write, but oftentimes I’m just like you when it comes to sharing & putting action behind my abilities. Why is that? Why are the things we do can do so well so often the very things we never put our hands to?

I was just saying last night to a fellow entrepreneur and dear Sister in Christ: Can is the enemy of Do. It’s easiest to push aside and procrastinate on those things we know we can do. It’s the ease in which we know it comes to us that is the mind trickery delaying our doing it at all.

The Lord has spoken something new in my spirit: YOU ARE THE GIFT!

So then there’s something about recognizing the value in ourselves that will turn our CANs to DOs.

You CAN cook your tail off. You tweak recipes to perfection, when you use them at all. Since it comes to easy to you, what could the value really be? I mean, it’s just you, right? What have you ever done so superbly that others would NEED your contribution to make their lives better? When we fail to see ourselves as a gift to the world, we fail to share our gifts with the world.

What is it that you can do with such ease, you aren’t doing it at all? What is that second nature thing God put in you to do? That’s your glorifier! In Isaiah 43:12, God calls us His witnesses. It’s our responsibility to do the work of learning to see ourselves through God’s eyes: righteous by the Blood of Christ, able through the Holy Spirit, and accepted by our Loving Father God. I just described the greatest gift of all…and you are the embodiment of it. Without people, without you, there is no object of God’s love. You are the gift!!! And gifts are to be shared…to be given away.

…and believe me, it’s WORK to learn it, because it’s not what we’ve been taught. So many of us have been taught, raised, and influenced by the spirit of oppression. This spirit has kept us bound by prisons of poverty for years, all while convincing us that as long as we could find someone worse off than we were, we weren’t poor at all. But poverty is anything other than the abundant life Christ came to give us: health, joy, love, security, wisdom, authenticity, autonomy (self trust to move on our ideas which are the seeds of wealth), etc. Oppression teaches worthlessness, not value. It teaches imbalanced dependency as opposed to the freedom to openly give and receive. It pinpoints our failures until we’re trained to fail. And worst of all, oppression has created an image of itself and told us that was God.

We have a Kingdom of God system to learn. In it, we become the kings and queens we were created to be. We’re free to see our value in Christ. We’re free to share ourselves without shame, or fear of criticism, or doubting wonder as to when the oppressor will come and beat us down. But we’re not slaves anymore. Now, we are the gift! We’ve been redeemed! And yes, the oppressor is coming, but only to make his noise, because he can’t physically touch us anymore. The Word of God swears that he’s already defeated! So let him come. In fact, how can Psalm 23 read about a table prepared for me in the presence of my enemies if he doesn’t come. Yes, let him come but also let the Word teach you that he’s stolen all he can. He’s destroyed your last harvest, killed your last dream. Let the Word teach you that because he even bothered, YOUR seven fold recompense is in the Father’s Hand. It only costs the faith of your confession to receive it.

When we know better, we speak better: We call ourselves the gift!!!
When we know better, we do better: We give the gift away!!!

Love & Light,
Blessings & Strength,
Alaina~

About Alaina Odessa Expressions

Alaina Odessa is a Christian poet and author of Slow Running Honey, an anointed book of poetry that speaks to the secrets, self deception, and lack of self awareness that is holding many of God's people back from the abundance He created them for. She is creator of Alaina Odessa Expressions, a company dedicated to helping others 'Cultivate the God made self' through poetry, theatre, workshops, lectures, & television. Godly information fosters the mind renewal process all Christians must undertake to experience the fullness of Christ's sacrifice. Alaina Odessa Expressions strives to provide edifying, life changing content.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to You Are the Gift

  1. Here you go again! “You are the Gift”, is an outstanding expression of awareness. It is a treat, a reminder, a lesson and labor of love all rolled into one.

    But it’s no surprise, your entire book is a brave, devout and honest piece of work increasing the readers concept on the importance of a “One on One” Spiritual relationship with the Lord.

    It challenged me personally to look long, hard, and honest at where I stand, and what I stand for.

    Yes I am the gift, at least one of them. And with wisdom and understanding, that is said in boldness and confidence in the lord, and not arrogance of self.

    In these peril times, teaching seems to be a lost art, fortunately, that gift is found in you. Alaina Thank You for being you, and keep doing what you do!
    Peace and Blessings

    ~Anthony Belton CEO Cre8ive Myndz~

    • God bless you Anthony for sharing your beautiful perspective and encouragement. We are often so separated from the freedom & permission to celebrate ourselves, the few that do are labeled as arrogant and prideful. Thanks for shining a light on the truth that both wisdom & understanding are required for the grand leap into self love, self celebration. I praise God for your artistic expression!!!

  2. Tee says:

    I am in tears right now. I don’t know why. Perhaps because I am now realizing the true Gift. For so long, I have put others before myself, but did not share myself with them. Never did I realize that my gifts and testimonies could be the answer to someone else’s prayers. I feel so lost right now. I don’t really know my worth, and I really don’t know my God intimately.

    • Hello Tee…:) Your tears are proof that the Spirit has pierced through your defenses. Praise God!!! Self awareness is the most powerful tool when it comes to growth and development in being changed into the image of Christ. God has blessed you with a ground breaking revelation about putting others first while not really sharing yourself. The spirit of manipulation urges us to take on whatever disguise will best suit it. This is so damaging because the spirit of manipulation is a perfectionist; she does well what she does well. Pray that God expose, deliver, and seal you from that spirit & its effects on your life.

      Knowing your worth is about knowing your self; and being a Christian, one of God’s chosen people, is LEARNING to know yourself IN CHRIST. There’s a work to finding self worth, Tee, because we are in the world and everything about it is so contradictory to the things of God. There’s a work to knowing God intimately, too. It’s no different than any other personal relationship we have. Every intimate contact requires, well, intimacy. And we cultivate that through discovering the shared interests, as well as those that oppose. This is done through the investment of time. Talking and listening are the seeds that harvest intimacy. Speak to God, in truth. Tell. Confess it all, even the super ugly things, and understand that that’s more for you than it is for God because He already knows. You will never overcome what you cannot admit. I don’t know you personally, but I do know that if you feel a disconnection from God, it’s because the world and all it’s negative emotions are in the way. Religiosity says “Get all that junk cleaned up if you want a closer relationship with God.” But Jesus said, “Come, and I will give you rest.” Real relationship with Him requires only that you come, and all the better when you have your junk in tow. Do you know how many people are claiming to have a relationship with Him even as they deny all their baggage and profess THEIR righteousness?

      About a year or so into my walk with God I told Him I’d give up sex for six months if He’d do something or other, I don’t remember what. Well, I did. And He did although I didn’t notice it until about eight months in. During that time, He edified me and taught me His truth about His creation of sex. That was seven years ago I’m still living in abstinence. I struggled with promiscuity from my teens. My point is, I could cringe, or judge my audacity, or the total irreverance it took for me to even speak such “sacrilege” to my Loving Father. I don’t go back and condemn myself for being the dummy with the nerve to make a deal with God. I praise Him for Shepherding me out of the pasture of promiscuity, for leading me to truth and teaching me not to judge how I got there or allow anyone else to either. And I’m not talking about manipulating God. I’m talking about His love & grace to meet us where we are. His faithfulness to His Word that none of His are lost. Thank God for His plans and for ALL His ways. You, my Sister, may feel lost, but you’re not. God is reaching for you right now. Talk openly to Him, then listen to the silence, and He will lead the way. That’s His promise to you, to all of us…. Blessings & Strength!!!

      • Tee says:

        Thank you so much for your words Alaina! It means the world to me that you took time out to respond with truth, caring, and a concerned heart. I am grateful for your wisdom. I pray that God continues to use you and strengthen you daily in your gifting. Richest Blessings.

  3. Kim Burgess says:

    So true!!! We all have a gift inside of us, but sometimes we are taught to hide the gift, well someimes we are trained by people we looked up to,but we are all just waiting on that one star to shine her light, then to motivate us all to puruse our own Gift.Know to God be the Glory for restoring lost time. My gift is not for me but rather to given away to bring Glory to God’s name alone.You are a very wise woman, may you continue to write the wisdom God had placed in you to birth new Gifts in women s soul, heart, mind, and ways, by reading the writing of a very wise woman. May God’s angels lead u guide, protect u and your family and your ministry. God Bless U Alaina!!!!!

    • Amen!!! Thank you, Kim…:) I believe this is the season of the spirit of wisdom because the new things God declared through Isaiah are at hand. Thank you for your confession over my life, family, and ministry. All things come of Him and of His own do I give, live, and breathe!!!

      Your light is necessary!!! Let us all shine our lights so the Kingdom can be seen of men… God WILL be glorified!!!

  4. Jacqueline says:

    Alaina,
    Your soft spoken words are so true and God bless you for sharing your gift to others.
    Some think that they have nothing to offer to the World, not true each of us have been given something from God to share that’s all part of the Cross. I thank God for speaking into my Spirit the gift of photography…….it is a beautiful gift to give people themselves in photos and allow them to realize that God sees them in such a special way, when they blink their eyes and see themselves in print the pleasure of seeing them see themselves is their gift back to me while the print is my gift to them.

  5. Lovely– it really is true, it is easier to procrastinate. I see patterns in myself when I push myself to be the best I can be and then other times I let procrastination take over, excellent to read abotu faith as I re-set my brain for the next project. Excellent article, you are so talented. Cristina

  6. Kevin Via says:

    I like that. We are God’s gifts to one another. That is such a great truth.

  7. Otto Harris says:

    Profundity at its best…I have much to chew on and digest from this blog, particularly CAN is the enemy of DO. Woo! You have your finger on the pulse of what keeps many of us from being all that God has called us to do. My prayer – “Lord, give me the faith and the strength to transfer my CANs into DOs.”

  8. Renee says:

    BEAUTIFUL. No other words to describe this message!

  9. I am in awe of your gift and eagerly await more giveaways! Love Lifted me!

  10. vb still says:

    Thank you!

  11. Stevii says:

    Amazing and timely! It is really empowering to walk into the knowledge that you are the gift! As the gift, you present yourself to the world in the best way possible and know that it is a pleasure for people to be offered the gift!

Leave a Reply

